DIY, Now


What motivates you to do it yourself?

  • You want to prove you can do something
  • You need to fix something and don’t want to spend the money
  • Something needs to happen, immediately
  • You can take pride in being the one that did the job
  • Good things will happen, since you are taking action and doing it yourself

These are all great reasons to take out the tools, take the bull by the horns, and dive into a project.  You have to be willing to succeed…as well as fail.  Hey, that is part of the challenge and fun of being a DIYer.

What prevents you from doing something yourself?

  • I don’t know how
  • I don’t have the tools
  • I don’t have the money
  • Nobody has shown me how
  • What if I can’t make it work or get the machine (that I took apart) back together?

Yup, all good reasons not to start a project.

Do it anyway.

Take a look at part 1 of my YouTube with Linux series of articles.

The article describes all the necessary steps to making a YouTube video using Linux tools.  When I first started into video, it was a fairly steep learning curve.  Ten years ago, the hardware to do videos was both expensive and very temperamental.  The processing horsepower wasn’t there in the desktop or laptop, that I had at the time.  The video editing software was slow and buggy.  Disk space was modest and only very short clips could be saved.  Making a video was basically a huge challenge, time consuming, and of very marginal quality.

Fast forward to 2010.  You can shoot a video on a cell phone.  Laptop hardware is a thousand times more powerful and the process (like using a timeline) is essentially unchanged, from years ago.  Just follow my series and you can put a video on YouTube, using Linux.

The point is…that you have to go through a learning process to do anything.  I didn’t know how to put a video shoot together, before I did it a couple of times.  I didn’t inherently know how to do a voice-over, just out of the blue.  Well, actually, I didn’t think it was all that hard, but I am DoctorTorque, after all.  You get the benefit of my learning to jump start your efforts.

So, go out there and learn something.  Dive right in knowing full well that you can succeed.  Be aware that you might fail.

Only you can decide.

What are you going to do?

About Rob Reilly

Rob is an independent consultant, writer, and speaker, specializing in Linux/Free software, hacking of just about everything, DIY and Maker Movement, and tech media. He has a BS in Mechanical Technology from Purdue University. Contact him at doc@drtorq.com.
This entry was posted in Consulting, Methods, Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

